The utility Coat : a review

the utility coat main

The Utility Coat, image for The Maker’s Atelier

With all the rain we have been having I needed to get my new raincoat made.  I found some fabulous fabric at The Cloth House warehouse sale, its cotton both sides with rubber sandwiched between, perfect for wet weather dog walking.  The Utility Coat has 2 styles, round neck and hooded, I decided on the hooded version.

the utility coat line drawing

Pattern: The Utility Coat by The maker’s Atelier.

Fabrics: cotton & rubber waterproof fabric.

Notions: Gutermann thread, pins, elastic cord, snap fasteners, eyelets, cord lock and 12/80 sharps sewing machine needles.

Pattern Sizing:  12

IMG_0557

Did it look like the photo/line drawing on the pattern once finished?  yes, minus the pockets.

What did you like or dislike about the pattern? I like the simple, well explained, clear instructions.

Did I make any pattern alterations or design changes? I made the parker style alterations, as explained over on The Maker’s Atelier journal.  I bound most of the seams with ready made bias binding and when I ran out overlocked the seams.  Next time I will make my own bias binding, that way I won’t run out.

IMG_0554

Would I sew it again or recommend to others?  Yes, I’ll defiantly make another as the pattern is a dream to sew, maybe next time I’ll make it in Parachute silk as suggested in the pattern.

Conclusion: Wonderful, easy to wear coat.  It took me a few days, dipping in and out – I would have made it in a day if I’d had the time to sit sewing.

I bought the pattern, all fabrics & notions and my opinions are my own.

One thought on “The utility Coat : a review

Leave a Reply

